Select a State:

State of Kentucky

Methods of Judicial Selection: Kentucky

Judicial Nominating Commissions

Judicial nominating commissions screen candidates for interim judicial vacancies and provide the governor with a list of three names. The governor must appoint a judge from this list. There is one nominating commission for the appellate courts, one for each judicial circuit, and one for each judicial district. Each commission is composed of seven members, and the chief justice serves as chair. Two commission members are lawyers elected by the Kentucky Bar Association, and the remaining four members are nonlawyers appointed by the governor. Among the four nonlawyer members, there must be two members from each of the state's two largest political parties. Commission members serve four-year terms. Click here to view commission rules and here for the statute governing the commission.

For more information, see Judicial Merit Selection: Current Status.